Cooler Classics, Interviews, Music

Cooler Classics on Mixcloud.. Sunday 5th March 2023

Bennet Cerven introduces the music of The Trouble Notes

Dr Alexander Lingas tells us about his role in the forthcoming Coronation of King Charles III on 6th May 2023.

Music from Heitor Villa-Lobos, Giuseppe Verdi, Maurice Ravel, Samuel Barber.
Performances from: Russell Watson, Claudio Abbado and London Symphony Orchestra, Hungarian National Gypsy Orchestra , Andre Rieu and Johann Strauss Orchestra.
Latest releases from: Hélène Grimaud and Konstantin Krimmel (pay homage to Valentin Silvestrov)
Umeå Symphony Orchestra play Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996) Chamber Symphony No. 1 .
James Gilchrist tenor, Eric McElroy piano perform “Tongues of Fire (SOMM Recordings)
The Catalyst Quartet – Uncovered, Vol. III: play the music of George Walker, Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, William Grant Still.

Available now on

Cooler Classics, English Symphony Orchestra, Interviews, Music, NCCR

Cooler Classics.(Sunday 5th September 2021. 9pm-11pm, Repeats Thursday midnight, Listen Again & on Mixcloud)

Featuring :

  • Helena Cavan explains the music and poetry of The Cavan Trio,(Janine Parsons, piano; Corinne Frost, cello; Helena Cavan; poetry) next appearing on 19th September 2021 at Greet,Nr Winchcombe.
Helena Cavan.
  • Music on this programme will come from 
  • Orchestra of The Swan,(Eno)(Hans Gal)
  • English Symphony Orchestra & April Frederick (Elgar,Mahler)
  • Pierre -Laurent Aimard (Beethoven)
  • Giselle Ben-Dor and Juanjo Mosalini(bandoneon) (Piazzolla)
  • Tom Kerstens (Enrique Granados)
  • Paavo Järvi (Arvo Paert)
  • Emmanuele Baldini & Pablo Rossi(Villa-Lobos)
  • Anita Rachvelishvili( Otar Taktakishvili)

Sunday 9-11pm and repeated Thursday at Midnight. Plus Listen Again (7 days) and Mixcloud (several weeks!)

Cooler Classics, Interviews, Uncategorized

“Cooler Classics” Sunday 9th August 2020 11pm-1am(rpts Various)Available on Listen Again.(

“Cooler Classics”

  • In depth interviews with trumpeter Fabio Brum.. all about his album “Egregore+” and more
  • And Klaus Heymann tells us about his record label “NAXOS”

Plus beautiful music from Takako Nishizaki and New Zealand Symphony Orchestra with The Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto.(complete)

FabioBrum29-07-2020 (2) KlausHeymann Naxos(3)

Fabio Brum (left)  Klaus Heymann, founder Naxos Records.

About “Egregore+” (Fabio Brum)..(Naxos 8.574204)

This is a superb album. And Fabio Brum is a superb technician!

The album’s stated aim is to demonstrate the tremendous variety of sounds in the trumpet family. Indeed, Fabio uses Cornets in F, Trumpet, Flugelhorn and Cornets in B flat,G and D !! And we are introduced to the entirely new sound  of the Piccolo Cornet  in A… instrument especially developed for this album! So, a world premiere!!

The album’s contents take us from Vivaldi’s Griselda to Isaac Albinez’ Iberia(Book 2), Theo Charlier’s “Solo de Concours”,Heitor Villa-Lobos’ Bachianas Brasileiras No 5  and Efrain Oscher’s Rapsodia Latina, demonstrating the Piccolo Cornet in A mentioned earlier!

So, as the tracks clearly indicate, there is a strong Latin influence here…. guijira, guaguanco, bolero, choro…. you will find it hard not to enjoy!! know what to do now! Go out and buy a copy….you will enjoy it!!

So, do be sure to listen in at the appropriate time for you!!